Sunday mornings were made for Pumpkin Buttermilk Pancakes.

IMG_0129

Good Mornin’!

This fine Sunday morning, my flatmates and I made Pumpkin Buttermilk Pancakes. This deviates from my typical health-conscious food selection, but it was absolutely indulgently delicious. My inhibitions melted away as I watched the fluffy dough soak up the butter and maple syrup toppings. And the one thing that made it better was the french-pressed black coffee on the side and the breakfast chit-chat between flatmates. There was something so idyllic about watching the steam from my coffee mug, noticing the light gently come through our window, and listening to the calm of Shoreditch on a Sunday.

I may have said this before, but I’ll say it again… I absolutely love breakfast. It can be quite divided between people who adamantly believe in it and those that don’t bother eating in the morning. But for me, the act of waking up is so much more enjoyable when I look forward to not only food, but also the act of eating. Too many people consume, without actually eating. Especially at breakfast (when you’re on the go and already late for work), but you must not let the rush of life take away from the simple joy of food in the morning. 

While it’s true that a typical morning during the work week is quite different from a typical weekend morning, both can be relaxing and invigorating. During the week, I enjoy waking up before anyone else so as to soak up the empty spaces of the flat. And during the weekend, I enjoy waiting around the kitchen to have countertop conversations about the silliest and randomest of things. Either way, breakfast sets the tone for the rest of the day and thus, it should not be treated lightly. My advice to you: invest time and effort into breakfast… it could change your life. 

My flatmate found the instructions and ingredients on this BLOG…read the recipe here. You too can make some!

IMG_0121

“All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast.” – John Gunther

“Breakfast is a peaceful moment for me, so I never have the radio on, no music, no noise around. The only noise that is permitted is people’s voices. It’s a way for me to wake up without too much of a high speed feeling. – Christian Louboutin

“I like to use ‘I Can’t Believe it’s Not Butter’ on my toast in the morning, because sometimes when I eat breakfast, I like to be incredulous. How was breakfast? Unbelievable.” – Demetri Martin

“Brunch, for me, is an extended breakfast that should be enjoyed whenever you have time properly to engage in cooking and eating.” – Yotam Ottelenghi

One comment on “Sunday mornings were made for Pumpkin Buttermilk Pancakes.

  1. Arielle Tan says:

    Look so good! A perfect way to start a morning <3

Leave a comment