Hello, Year 2014, I’m pleased to have made your acquaintance.

Was it your intention to come into my life today and knock me off my feet? My knees are slightly tingling, but I already have a good feeling about the next 365 days with you. I think we should be honest with each other from the start though… I’m not looking for a long-term relationship. However, here are 14 goals for our time together:

1. Design and Print Business Cards.

2. Improve your Twitter abilities/Create a network and following

3. Read at least three Nora Ephron books.

4. Graduate University at the top of your department.

5. Learn how to fake a British Accent.

6. Develop a visible Six Pack or Run another Marathon. You’re choice.

7. Learn at least one magic trick that can be performed in social settings.

8. Compete a Jaw-Dropping work experience: internship, graduate scheme, part-time job or starting your own business.

9. Stop biting your nails. NO excuses – It’s tacky, immature, and unprofessional.

10. Watch every James Bond film ever made.

11. Start learning a Fourth Language.

12. Write a Travel Adventure Novel. It can be really really horribly bad as long as it’s written – with commas, periods, semi-colons and all the necessary punctuation.

13. Get over your fear of winking in public.

14. Visit Australia, China, Thailand or India. (The more the better).

I must say: It’s not you; It’s me that needs improving. But by this time next year, I will have outgrown you my dear 2014. After all, I don’t want to end up like you’re ex-girlfriend Miss-New-Years-Resolutions. This isn’t a about a fresh start. This relationship is built on trust, acceptance, and hard work. I promise to make you a memorable and meaningful year, if you promise to make me appear carelessly lucky to the outside world.

Leave a Reply

