Please allow me to introduce myself…

 

I like the colour red – not excessively, but more than other colours – and it shows. It’s on my CV, cover letter, website (www.villyfriends.com), blog and iPhone cover. You will most likely spot me, sitting at a coffee shop, with my dark red blazer and my bright red handbag. My friends have nicknamed it “the power bag”: the source of my “awesome” organisational and communications skills. I simply open the zipper and pull out my laptop, confidence, and skillset because seemingly, I am as strong as the cherry tomato red. Plus, it appears that the colour has no boundary or language barrier. Whether I’m studying in London or Paris or working in California or Bulgaria, the colour comes to my rescue as I reach for my favourite burgundy lipstick. It speaks my confidence and personality even before I utter a word. Everyone has a personal brand that is on display – from the confidence in their shoulders to the colour of their shoes. But I always wonder, whether others are like me, always conscious of their personal statement. Whether they read Dale Carnegie’s book on how to influence people. Or whether they watch documentaries on Christian Louboutin’s use of red for design consistency and psychological persuasion. You see, it’s not a coincidence that others view me as ‘artistic’ and ‘professional’ – it’s the cherry-coloured power bag that took me forty-two days to find. Through visual consistency, my personal taste was able to harness the power of a colour to create an association with my name – Violeta Todorova. I am courageous, I am passionate, I am internationally recognized – I am the colour red. 

Leave a Reply

